Customer reviews for Debenhams Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set

Debenhams Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set

A modern twist on a classic, this brown recliner chair has a bonded leather upholstering with a cherry base frame and a star base with a matching foot stool.
Overall rating:
3.683 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
15
55 out of 77(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Review 1 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falling apart

Posted16/02/2015
Customer avatar
ChairSitter
from London, UK
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Small
Perfect
Big
Had this chair under 3 years with infrequent use. The frame has broken, the leather has bubbled and ripped, the reclining mechanism has broken. The only positive thing I can say about this product is that the foot stool is fine.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trash!

Posted28/01/2015
Customer avatar
Hemel Hempstead
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Do NOT waste your money on this trash. You'll find it difficult to assemble, with unsightly zips on show! Most importantly, this product is NOT leather! Leather does not peel apart after only 18 months of irregular use. I bought this through a big discount and still feel I have been cheated. Do not pay the price, if you do, you'll probably regret it!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

Posted22/01/2015
Customer avatar
Browned off
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Age: 45-54
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A real pain to assemble and what you can't see from the pictures is that cheap zips are used on the arms to get under the fabric when attaching the bolts
Not a good look from behind, zips on a chair?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falling apart!!!!

Posted07/01/2015
Customer avatar
Debbie
from Sheffield
Age: 35-44
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please do not buy this!! I purchased 2 and they are falling apart. The leather is pealing away and they are very unstable and bad quality.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's rubbish

Posted02/01/2015
Customer avatar
Shack
from Verwood
Age: Over 65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This chair although quite comfortable is not fit for purpose the finish began to peel after 1 year and has now been taken to the tip. Debenhams should not be selling this chair.
If you are are thinking of buying because it is reduced I suggest you don't
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A comfortable recliner - pleasing to the eye!

Posted31/12/2014
Customer avatar
Polly
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: Over 65
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased as I was convalescing and required a comfortable reclining chair. It fittingly arrived on my birthday but disappointed to note it was 'self assembly'. My son & son-in-law were the good Samaritans but it took them 3 to 4 hours to assemble it. My daughter in the end refereed it, observing where they had gone wrong. It had to be reassembled.
However we had some fun.
It has been admired by friends and relations , my grandson commandeering it at our family Christmas get together. So it was pleasing to young & old!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

smart looking chair and stool

Posted29/12/2014
Customer avatar
Spoons
from Lincoln
Age: Over 65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small
Small
Big
Comfortable chair but headrest does tend to force head forward and can become uncomfortable after a while.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

look good feels good and at sale price value for money

Posted11/12/2014
Customer avatar
god on earth
from Nottingingham
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small
Perfect
Big
My only problem was with the assembly instruction, the first one I followed the instruction and at the end it too three of us to force it together, the second one I got it half constructed and then reversed the instructions and needed no help at all
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish and comfortable. Would recommend.

Posted10/12/2014
Customer avatar
Peter of Poole
from Poole, Poole, UK
Age: Over 65
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arrived promptly and complete. Slightly tricky to assemble but could do it all by myself (I am in my 70's). Quality generally ok but needs a bit of adjustment to fit the arms.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable!

Posted22/10/2014
Customer avatar
Shan
from Chester, Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Age: 45-54
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was purchased to help with a back problem - and it worked! It also looks great. We are going to buy another one for the conservatory!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor chair

Posted22/10/2014
Customer avatar
joef
from Swansea, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The chair is of very poor quality it collapsed after little more than a years wear.
It is only occasionally used and I only weigh 12 stone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very disappointed in this chair.

Posted19/10/2014
Customer avatar
Eleanor
from Ayr, South Ayrshire, UK
Age: Over 65
Only had this chair for about 2 months and it starting to lean to one side. My son- law bought the same chair about two years ago and there is no comparison. His is so much better finished. The padding of my chair is so poor. NOT a happy person. What a waste of money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The "bonded leather" is poor quality and soon starts to peel.

Posted23/09/2014
Customer avatar
col12
from West Sussex
Age: 55-65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Small
Small
Big
I thought I had bought a quality item, I was very happy with this chair when I bought it, but after about a year the coating started to peel and has got progressively worse ever since and looks a mess.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is very comfortable

Posted19/09/2014
Customer avatar
Martha11
from Northumberland, UK
Age: Over 65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After ordering the chair i was alarmed by the feedback about building it, i was almost going to cancel the order, but the delivery was very quick and after taking deep breaths we started to build, it took under an hour to build the chair and stool, it did take 2 persons to put the bolts into the cushion and back only because i have old hands now. The chair looks good, very comfortable and the 2 Grandkids fight over it, good value at the price we paid, would not pay full price, but would buy it again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor finish Not lasting

Posted14/09/2014
Customer avatar
Peter
from Glasgow
Age: Over 65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought two of these chairs about 18months ago and was initially pleased with them.
However the fake leather has began to bubble and peal in various places so will now need to replace them.
Tried patching with leather stick on but has began to peel out from under them.
They were quite cheap but if they only last this amount of time then not a bargain.
Would perhaps buy the same type of chair as they are comfortable but would buy real leather this time.
Also the wood finish has began to peal and is unsightly.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality.

Posted07/08/2014
Customer avatar
Jagsman
from Glasgow
Age: 55-65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very difficult to assemble on your own. Bonded leather is not real leather and as such is not very durable. After a, not very long, while the top layer starts to peel off revealing a sort of fabric. It is very comfortable, however.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable BUT very difficult to assemble

Posted29/05/2014
Customer avatar
Mikdav
from Hunmanby
Age: Over 65
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Assembly notes say 2 people, one hour and medium difficulty. It took me 2 hours from opening the box to assemble the chair only with my wife assisting. I am a very fit 68 year old and have assembled a lot of products from recliner chairs,metal beds, tables, garden furniture, cabinets etc and I can say without doubt that this chair has been the most difficult. The reason is very poor design in that when inserting the bolts on the arms the hole cannot be viewed. I finished feeling I had been wrestling with an alligator. We inserted the bolts which connect the back rest to the seat before doing the arms. If anyone can assemble this chair in one hour then I applaud your skills.
Once assembled the chair is very comfortable but this was no surprise as I had sat in it in Debenhams before buying. My advice; if you are not fit and not good at assembly pay someone else to do it.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

extremely comfortable

Posted20/05/2014
Customer avatar
jean12
from Leicestershire, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The chair was not difficult to assemble. The material was of better quality than we expected, in a lovely rich brown colour and is so comfortable we fight over who is going to sit in it. Fantastic value!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not last

Posted16/05/2014
Customer avatar
Helena
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Age: Over 65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this chair January 2013, it now twists to one side after 1 year and 3 months. My husband has reassembled it but does not make any difference.
Second chair bought at same time is just starting to lean as well. Poor buy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase but colour not quite as imagined looks more plum than brown

Posted02/05/2014
Customer avatar
fuzzy
from Kent, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good chair, good delivery, some say hard to assemble but with a bit of planning its OK,
The brown colour we bought is a bit plum in certain lights but the beige one we bought was fine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>