Customer reviews for Debenhams Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set

Debenhams Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set

A modern twist on a classic, this brown recliner chair has a bonded leather upholstering with a cherry base frame and a star base with a matching foot stool.
Overall rating:
3.849 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
51 out of 68(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Review 1 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable!

Posted22/10/2014
Customer avatar
Shan
from Chester, Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Age: 45-54
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was purchased to help with a back problem - and it worked! It also looks great. We are going to buy another one for the conservatory!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor chair

Posted22/10/2014
Customer avatar
joef
from Swansea, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The chair is of very poor quality it collapsed after little more than a years wear.
It is only occasionally used and I only weigh 12 stone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very disappointed in this chair.

Posted19/10/2014
Customer avatar
Eleanor
from Ayr, South Ayrshire, UK
Age: Over 65
Only had this chair for about 2 months and it starting to lean to one side. My son- law bought the same chair about two years ago and there is no comparison. His is so much better finished. The padding of my chair is so poor. NOT a happy person. What a waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The "bonded leather" is poor quality and soon starts to peel.

Posted23/09/2014
Customer avatar
col12
from West Sussex
Age: 55-65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Small
Small
Big
I thought I had bought a quality item, I was very happy with this chair when I bought it, but after about a year the coating started to peel and has got progressively worse ever since and looks a mess.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is very comfortable

Posted19/09/2014
Customer avatar
Martha11
from Northumberland, UK
Age: Over 65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After ordering the chair i was alarmed by the feedback about building it, i was almost going to cancel the order, but the delivery was very quick and after taking deep breaths we started to build, it took under an hour to build the chair and stool, it did take 2 persons to put the bolts into the cushion and back only because i have old hands now. The chair looks good, very comfortable and the 2 Grandkids fight over it, good value at the price we paid, would not pay full price, but would buy it again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor finish Not lasting

Posted14/09/2014
Customer avatar
Peter
from Glasgow
Age: Over 65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought two of these chairs about 18months ago and was initially pleased with them.
However the fake leather has began to bubble and peal in various places so will now need to replace them.
Tried patching with leather stick on but has began to peel out from under them.
They were quite cheap but if they only last this amount of time then not a bargain.
Would perhaps buy the same type of chair as they are comfortable but would buy real leather this time.
Also the wood finish has began to peal and is unsightly.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality.

Posted07/08/2014
Customer avatar
Jagsman
from Glasgow
Age: 55-65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very difficult to assemble on your own. Bonded leather is not real leather and as such is not very durable. After a, not very long, while the top layer starts to peel off revealing a sort of fabric. It is very comfortable, however.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable BUT very difficult to assemble

Posted29/05/2014
Customer avatar
Mikdav
from Hunmanby
Age: Over 65
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Assembly notes say 2 people, one hour and medium difficulty. It took me 2 hours from opening the box to assemble the chair only with my wife assisting. I am a very fit 68 year old and have assembled a lot of products from recliner chairs,metal beds, tables, garden furniture, cabinets etc and I can say without doubt that this chair has been the most difficult. The reason is very poor design in that when inserting the bolts on the arms the hole cannot be viewed. I finished feeling I had been wrestling with an alligator. We inserted the bolts which connect the back rest to the seat before doing the arms. If anyone can assemble this chair in one hour then I applaud your skills.
Once assembled the chair is very comfortable but this was no surprise as I had sat in it in Debenhams before buying. My advice; if you are not fit and not good at assembly pay someone else to do it.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

extremely comfortable

Posted20/05/2014
Customer avatar
jean12
from Leicestershire, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The chair was not difficult to assemble. The material was of better quality than we expected, in a lovely rich brown colour and is so comfortable we fight over who is going to sit in it. Fantastic value!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not last

Posted16/05/2014
Customer avatar
Helena
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Age: Over 65
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this chair January 2013, it now twists to one side after 1 year and 3 months. My husband has reassembled it but does not make any difference.
Second chair bought at same time is just starting to lean as well. Poor buy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase but colour not quite as imagined looks more plum than brown

Posted02/05/2014
Customer avatar
fuzzy
from Kent, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good chair, good delivery, some say hard to assemble but with a bit of planning its OK,
The brown colour we bought is a bit plum in certain lights but the beige one we bought was fine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good looking comfortable chair

Posted02/05/2014
Customer avatar
AnneF
from Dawlish Devon
Age: Over 65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart looking reclining chair, easy to assemble, and very comfortable.complete with matching footstool. Only down side wooden frame is a bit orange, hopefully it will fade a bit.Overall good value for money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good quality chair and stool

Posted01/05/2014
Customer avatar
kaa 56
from Kent, UK
Age: 45-54
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chair and stool both good quality and great colour and look.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Sale Bargain

Posted23/04/2014
Customer avatar
PG_Casterton
from Stamford, Lincs
Age: Over 65
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small
Small
Big
Delivered on time. As part of the latest Debenham's Sale, a definite bargain.
All of the parts clearly labelled and contained in plastic plus one spare of all of the build components - first class approach.
Unlike some, had no difficulty in assembling the chair and stool and the end result is a very good-looking and comfortable chair/stool combo.
At the next sale, will definitely buy another one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfy, you fall asleep in this chair...................

Posted09/04/2014
Customer avatar
suey
from bourne
Age: 55-65
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small
Big
Big
very comfy, put your feet up on the stool, and you are 'away' it's so comfy.....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Family favourite

Posted09/04/2014
Customer avatar
Nottingham Red
from Solihull
Age: 45-54
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable and everyone loves to sit in it - for reading or chilling listening to music. Footstool finishes it off.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice chair, pain to assemble

Posted09/04/2014
Customer avatar
Anne111
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable. Arrived quickly. Very difficult to put together - really needs 2 people. Good value for sale price - would not pay full price for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lovely piece of furniture

Posted09/04/2014
Customer avatar
babybell66
from scotland
Age: 55-65
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The order arrived when expected, very well packaged. The construction of
the foot stoll was relatively straight forward but the seat took a good couple of hours, with a few undo's along the way - we found a previous review on line
very helpful, which involved turning the seat upside down to gain acces to
the back. However once all the fixings were all in place we were well pleased
with the chair. Love the colour and the feel of the material and my mother
likes to sit in it when she visits.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very comfortable chair

Posted09/04/2014
Customer avatar
cheech77
from Inverness
Age: 35-44
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This chair is excellent quality for the money and very comfortable. I actually bought it after sitting on one at a relative's house. The downside is that it needs to be assembled on arrival and is VERY difficult to do. My husband is a mechanic and excels with all things diy but this nearly had him beaten. Once together though it is a great bit of furniture.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brown bonded leather 'Bjorn' recliner chair and stool set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very stylish and comfortable chair.

Posted09/04/2014
Customer avatar
penny
from Penrith, Cumbria, UK
Age: 55-65
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this product after reading reviews,very pleased with it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>